• Is a Military Career right for you?  

    Amazon.com: US Military Branches Poster US Military Military Poster Army  Navy Air Force Marines Coast Guard 18X24 (MILITARY3): Posters & Prints

    There are many reasons why a student may consider a career in                             
    the military, such as serving their country, learning a new skill or
    trade, traveling, or saving money, and paying for college.

    Interested students should talk with their school counselor to learn more.



    According to military.com, the following are the basic requirements for enlisting:
    1. You must be a U.S. citizen or a resident alien.
    2. Be between the ages of 17-34. ...
    3. Have a high school diploma.
    4. Have no more than two dependents.
    5. Pass the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) test.
    6. Pass a Military Entrance Processing Station medical exam.

    This is a brief description of the military branches, according to usa.gov. You may click on the links to obtain more information.  

    The Air Force is part of the Department of Defense (DOD). It’s responsible for aerial military operations, defending U.S. air bases, and building landing strips. Its service members are airmen. The reserve components are Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve.

    The Army is part of the DOD and is the largest of the military branches. It handles significant ground combat missions, especially operations that are ongoing. Army Special Forces are called Green Berets for their headgear. The Army's members are its soldiers. The reserve components are the Army Reserve and Army National Guard.

    The Coast Guard is part of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). It provides national security and search and rescue for America's waterways, seas, and coast.  It's responsible for stopping drug smugglers and others breaking maritime law. It enforces marine environmental protection laws. Service members are Coast Guardsmen and nicknamed Coasties. The reserve component is the Coast Guard Reserve. 

    The Marine Corps is part of the DOD. It provides land combat, sea-based, and air-ground operations support for the other branches during a mission. This branch also guards U.S. embassies around the world and the classified documents in those buildings. Marine Corps Special Operations Command (MARSOC) members are known as Raiders. All service members are called Marines. The reserve component is the Marine Corps Reserve.

    The Navy is part of the DOD. It protects waterways (sea and ocean) outside of the Coast Guard’s jurisdiction. Navy warships provide the runways for aircraft to land and take off when at sea. Navy SEALs (sea, air, and land) are the special operations force for this branch. All service members are known as sailors. The reserve component is Navy Reserve. 

    The Space Force is a new branch, created in December 2019 from the former Air Force Space Command. The Space Force falls within the Department of the Air Force. It organizes, trains, and equips space forces to protect U.S. and allied interests in space and provide space capabilities to the joint force.