Return to Headlines

Nine schools recognized with Distinctions

Ector County ISD officials are proud to congratulate 9 schools that earned a total of 24 Distinction Designations from the Texas Education Agency. For the second year in a row, Reagan Elementary earned all 6 Distinctions available to elementary schools. San Jacinto Elementary earned 5, and George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa earned 4 of the 7 Distinctions possible for secondary schools.

The Texas Education Agency awards Distinction Designations to campuses based on achievement in performance relative to a group of 40 campuses state-wide of similar type, size, and student demographics. Depending on campus grade levels and type, the number of potential distinction designations can vary.

The ECISD schools earning distinction designations are:

Reagan Elementary (6) – Reading/English Language Arts, Math, Science, Academic Growth, Closing Gaps, Post-Secondary Readiness

San Jacinto Elementary (5) – Math, Science, Academic Growth, Closing Gaps, Post-Secondary Readiness

Austin Montessori Elementary (2) – Academic Growth, Closing Gaps

Buice Elementary (2) – Science, Academic Growth

Fly Elementary (1) – Academic Growth

Hays STEAM Academy (1) – Academic Growth

George H.W. Bush New Tech Odessa (4) – Reading/English Language Arts, Social Studies, Gap, Post-Secondary Readiness

OCTECHS (2) – Reading/English Language Arts, Social Studies

Falcon ECHS (now called Odessa Collegiate Academy) (1) – Post-Secondary Readiness


The principals of each of the 9 schools, photographed with a certificate of achievement for TEA Distinctions

Row 1, left to right: Gerardo Ramirez, principal of New Tech Odessa; Jessica Rickman, principal of Buice Elementary; Wayne Squiers, prinicpal of Reagan Elementary.

Row 2, left to rigt: Julie Marshall, principal of Hays STEAM Academy; Karl Miller, principal of OCTECHS; Erin Bueno, principal of San Jacinto Elementary.

Row 3, left to right: Sam Martinez, principal of Fly Elementary; Tania Hagood, principal of Austin Montessori; James Ramage, principal of Odessa Collegiate Academy (formerly Falcon ECHS).